Mountain Mayhem 22nd – 24th June 2012

A couple of months ago my friend Chris asked whether I wanted to join him and a group of his friends on a 24hr MTB endurance event.  Without really thinking I said yes!  Now it is just 5 weeks until the event, and I am panicking.  I used to ride x-country quite a bit when I was younger, but as I’ve got older I’ve stuck mainly to road cycling.  Over the past two years I’ve entered various sportives, all on road so I do have experience, but not off road!

I don’t know quite why I am panicking, I guess it’s mainly because I’m the only female on the team, and because I haven’t been training.  Plus after the two minor rides I did this weekend, my legs are KILLING me so I am not sure whether I will be able to manage!  I’m trying to make sure I do some form of exercise every evening, whether it be running, turbo training or getting out on my bike, but even this is proving difficult with working.

Because I’m uber competitive (growing up with two older brothers helped my competitive spirit) I don’t want to be the weak link in the chain of the team of 4 other guys.  So with that in mind, I am going to try my hardest to ‘up’ the training, keep eating healthily and keep off the booze (which is going to be difficult!).  I’m also wanting to lose the extra pounds I have gained since the LEJOG, I am currently around 9st 11lbs, but i would like to get down to around 9st before I start the main ride.  I guess if I just cut out the majority of the alcohol, eat a wee bit healthier (just cut the crap I snack on out) and up the exercise – I should be able to do it!

Anyway – if anyone is interested in Wiggle Mountain Mayhem, here’s the website – http://www.wigglemountainmayhem.com/ if you look at the page with confirmed starters you’ll see the team and me!!

Leave a Reply

