Sheen Service Centre

My poor Boardman was in desperate need of some TLC after completing the LEJOG and L2P my bike has taken rather a beating. Prior to the LEJOG last year Gavin and I both had our bikes serviced at Prologue, which is now called Sheen Service Centre. The service we received was absolutely fantastic, the bikes didn’t suffer any mechanicals on the ride and operated smoothly the whole time.

Because of this, I trust the guys there implicitly with my bike so I dropped off the Boardman last week for the full platinum service. I needed the standard up keep of new brake pads front and back, inner cables, new 105 chain, re-lubed headset and I treated myself to a new cassette, moving away from my original 11-25 to 11-28 to help me with some of the ‘undulations’ we will encouter on the ride.

On top of this, I had been testing some saddles from the Fizik range, including the Kurve snake and the Arione. As I had to ride into A&E for problems associated with my saddle on the LEJOG I felt it was time to assess my options and I blindly thought it you spent more you got more, how wrong I was. I tried both saddles for three days and after lots of tinkering, up and down, back and forth I was left feeling pretty miserable that even at £200 these saddles were blatently designed for men. In essence, the saddles were just too narrow, so instead of supporting my sit bones, the pressure was on the tissue between the bones causing GREAT discomfort!

I spoke with the guys at Sheen Service Centre and discussed the issues I had with the Fizik saddles, they then offered me two female specific saddles to pick from, and let me go test them on my newly serviced bike. The one I settled on was the Selle Italia Diva, it’s covered in leather, with silicone gel inserts around the cut out, and the weight is 265g. After cycling about 100 miles over the weekend, I cannot believe the difference it has made! The only slight niggle, is when I’m down on the drops, the width of nose on the saddle is a little too wide and it leads to some rubbing on the thighs. However, as I’m usually only in the drops on descents when I’m not peddling, I can’t imagine this will cause me too many problems.

Anyway, back to Sheen Service Centre, these guys really know what they are doing and are a great bunch – one of the only bike shops where as a female, I actually get treated as an equal! If you want an excellent service, call Mark on 07825 294158 below are there service options and in my opinion worth every penny;

Standard Service (takes 30-40 mins) – £40.00
Visual inspection of complete bike.
Assess wear of parts, chain, cassette, brake pads, cables etc.
Brakes adjusted for correct operation.
Gears adjusted for correct operation.
Check all fixing bolts and tighten to manufacturer’s specification.
Inspection of tyres and inflate to recommended PSI.
Clean and lubricate bike.

Full Service (takes 60-120 mins) – £75.00
Visual inspection of complete bike.
Assess wear of parts, chain, cassette, brake pads, cables etc.
Check and adjustment of headset, regrease as required.
Remove, clean and service derailleurs, chainset, chain and cassette.
Remove and clean the bottom bracket, regrease and refit.
Brakes adjusted for correct operation.
Gears adjusted for correct operation.
Remove seat post, clean and regrease.
Remove pedals, clean regrease and refit
Check all fixing bolts and tighten to manufacturer’s specification.
Remove wheels, true tension and clean. Regrease as required
Inspection of tyres and inflate to recommended PSI.
Clean and lubricate bike.

Platinum Service (takes 180 mins) – £125.00

Full strip down and rebuild complete bike.

Visual inspection of complete bike.
Assess wear of parts, chain, cassette, brake pads, cables etc.
Removal of forks and headset. Regrease, refit and adjust accordingly.
Remove, clean and service derailleurs, chainset, chain and cassette.
Fully service clean and lubricate brake calipers
Fully clean and service STI gear levers.
Remove and clean the bottom bracket, regrease and refit.
Clean and retap the bottom bracket threads.
Brakes adjusted for correct operation.
Gears adjusted for correct operation.
Remove seat post, clean and regrease.
Remove pedals, clean regrease and refit.
Check all fixing bolts and tighten to manufacturers specification.
Remove wheels, true tension and clean. Regrease as required.
Strip down, re-grease and adjust both hubs.
Inspection of tyres and inflate to recommended PSI.Clean and lubricate bike.
Visual inspection of complete bike.
Assess wear of parts, chain, cassette, brake pads, cables etc.
Brakes adjusted for correct operation.
Gears adjusted for correct operation.
Check all fixing bolts and tighten to manufacturer’s specification.
Inspection of tyres and inflate to recommended PSI.
Clean and lubricate bike.

Leave a Reply

