Up and running – East Sheen

I have now officially finished work and it is time to up the training. Cycling has kept me fit, but  unfortunately it has not helped me keep off those pesky pounds gained from working in a job that included a lot of client entertaining, meaning long lunches and lots of drinking.

If I am going to be in the saddle for 10 weeks, covering just under 5,000 miles it will help if I as light as possible.  I’m not going to be running any marathons but if I can include one run a day on top of my cycling I’m hoping I can shift enough weight to make a difference.

I dug out my old trainers and they were in a very sorry state, so I went off in search of a new pair.  My route to work took me through East Sheen meaning I passed Up and running everyday.  My Dad and I cycled there the other day and I was greeted by very friendly staff and in no time we were talking about my ride.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get the name of the chap that helped me, but he was a spinning instructor and a fellow cyclist!  He helped me with a gait analysis and I managed to find my perfect trainers, Asics Cumulus 13, see below;

The guys kindly gave me 10% off my purchase, it always amazes me the generosity of people when you chat with them about something you love. Last year with the Lands End to John O’Groats we were met with such kindness not just on the ride but before, speaking with people in bike shops ended up in me being donated kit, shirts, bib-shorts, bottles etc. On the LEJOG ride, we had people giving us free cake at rest stops, letting us use their land to cook our lunch on and one even gave me a birthday card and donation to our charity!

Now I am the proud owner of these trainers, I best get on pounding those pavements!

If anyone is in need of trainers, I would highly recommend Up and running, specially the East Sheen branch!

Happy running…

Leave a Reply

