The route plotting begins… Day 1 = Middlesbrough – Druridge Bay

So with under a month to go, my Dad and I are beginning to plot the route.  We are using a route plotting tool called bikeroutetoaster, we used it for LEJOG and loaded each days route on to the Garmin.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, Dad and I are aiming to cycle 70 miles a day for the duration. I’m originally from the North East of England so it made sense to begin the ride from there, specifically the North side of the Transporter Bridge.  If anyone is interested in doing the ride I have all of the TCX files saved so please do get in touch.  When we do the actual ride I will be plotting the route we ride as it may change slightly as we realise we can’t cycle on certain roads.

Anyway – here we go, I’ve broken down each of the days in to four screen grabs so hopefully you can see enough details!

Stats for Day 1:

  • Monday 13th August
  • Start point = Middlesbrough
  • End point = Druridge Bay
  • Distance = 72.48 miles
  • Total climb = 1494 feet
  • Interesting route feature = setting off from where I was born!

Route for Day 1:

Day 1 – Pt 1

Day 1 – Pt 2

Day 1 – Pt 3

Day 1 – Pt 4

So the day starts off on the North shore of the Tees at the Transporter Bridge and finished off at Druridge Bay, just north of Ashington, we will take in over 72.48 miles.

Leave a Reply

